Have good manners gone COMPLETELY out of style???

What fries your fritters? Almost anything goes here. Rant, rave, and get it off your chest. Topics may be controversial and contain adult content. THIS FORUM MAY CONTAIN PROFANITY

Have good manners gone COMPLETELY out of style???

Postby brandtrn » Mon Jul 09, 2007 6:34 am

Somehow, I need to learn WHICH of my friends and acquaintances managed to learn decent manners when they were children, and which ones did not...in this way, I can perhaps in future avoid wasting my efforts to please AND my hard-earned $$$ on people who really aren't worth the bother.

A couple of cases in point: A few months ago, one of my old acquaintances got married. With my work schedule being what it is (I'm a nurse on the "weekend package," and as such, only get four weekends off a year, which I'd like to spend on important events in MY life), I wasn't able to attend the wedding. I did, however, send a gift...which to this day has never even been acknowledged! And recently, I sent a gift certificate to one of my online friends for her birthday -- and THAT has also been unacknowledged. Don't get me wrong, folks...I'm not a member of that old-fashioned school that insists upon receiving a formal, written note of thanks every single time I open up my wallet to send a gift, but it would seem to me that the very LEAST the recipients could do would be to invest a few minutes in a phone call or to write an e-mail and acknowledge that he/she received the gift and appreciated my efforts. I'm especially irked in the case of the wedding gift...the woman obviously knows where I live, because she sent me a damned wedding invitation, after all! Now that she's got the goods, however, it's apparently OK to forget about me completely -- at least until she gets pregnant, and it's time to send out invitations for her baby shower. Apparently, with few exceptions, the human race has degenerated into nothing but pack of self-absorbed boors, and once again, I f