_PTAWIA

Software and hardware questions and advice for the novice and the professional.

_PTAWIA

Postby mdkilmer » Wed May 23, 2007 10:19 am

Often, when I shut down my computer, I get a message that says "Closing _PTAWIA".

I don't know what this program is and it doesn't show in Task Manager.

I've entered _PTAWIA in a Google Search, but didn't come up with anything. However, there is a "PTAMERICA" trojan listed in Norton A/V's problem list.

Neither Norton nor AdAware PE will will a full scan; they both freeze (and cause the computer to have to be rebooted. I don't know if these things are related or just coincidences.

I'm running WinXP Pro.
.
<b>"There are two means of refuge from the miseries of life: music and cats."</b>

...Albert Schweitzer
User avatar
mdkilmer
Stone Cold Crazy
 
Posts: 1937
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 8:18 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Postby Yogi » Wed May 23, 2007 11:18 am

Install one or both of these programs:
Process Explorer:
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sysint ... lorer.mspx

HijackThis:
http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/programs.php

Both programs will list all the processes running on your computer, as well as other statistics. Using these utilities requires some skill and daring in that they allow you to kill and remove executable files from your system. Obviously, if you remove the wrong one, you can be in deep doo doo.

Use Process Explorer first in that I think it's a little easier to navigate. Start it up and look over all the processes. Check out the CPU usage and the vendor associated with each process. Generally those from Microsoft and known installed software are OK, but anything else with a high CPU usage and/or an unidentifiable source should be considered suspect. If you find a process (or processes) that has some possible relationship to what you read about _PTAWIA, highlight it and kill it. Then shut down your computer and see if you get the error message again. If not, you probably identified the invader, but most likely it will start up again at the next boot.

If you think you identified the culprit, start up again, kill the process(es), and then run your security software. That should clear it out for you automatically. If that doesn't work for some reason, you may have to do further research regarding how to remove the infection manually. That generally involves removing executable files and editing the registry. Again, some heavy stuff if you mess things up. So, before you go modifying system files, make a restore point. Should you have to use it, you will restore the bug of course. But, at least you will not have killed your operating system and can investigate further.

And, by the way, when your system is finally clean, and all your security software runs without crashing, make a restore point for that session. It may come in handy in the future.
Inside every older person is a younger person wondering what the hell happened.
User avatar
Yogi
Big Kahuna
 
Posts: 3351
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 4:29 pm
Location: near Chicago

Postby kg5uc » Sun Jun 17, 2007 1:51 pm

Don't know if you have followed up on this recently, but I did another Google search and came up with <a href="http://www.techsupportforum.com/microsoft-support/internet-explorer-forum/127183-ptawia-resolved.html">this from the Microsoft Tech Support Website.</a>
73 from KG5UC

Be nice to America or we'll bring Democracy to <u>your</u> country!
User avatar
kg5uc
Trapped Under Ice
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 9:47 pm
Location: Godfrey, IL

Postby Cats eye » Thu Aug 02, 2007 10:50 pm

better late then never?

Do you have Kodak Easyshare software installed on your PC. My search indicated that it is related to KE.

AutoRuns is a great progie to see what is running in the background, with the ability to shut off what you'd like not to diddle-about in the background.
http://tinyurl.com/umz73
CodeStuff Strter is another good one:
http://www.snapfiles.com/get/starter.html

OVER and above the winbloze start and stop services, these show far more. And yes, I run both.
User avatar
Cats eye
Trapped Under Ice
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 8:11 pm
Location: Neva, Umind

Postby mdkilmer » Fri Aug 03, 2007 8:22 am

Yes, I did start Easyshare automatically, but now i only run it when transferring pictures.

Those autorun programs look interesting. I'll mess with them and see what I find.

Thanks
.
<b>"There are two means of refuge from the miseries of life: music and cats."</b>

...Albert Schweitzer
User avatar
mdkilmer
Stone Cold Crazy
 
Posts: 1937
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 8:18 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA


Return to Computers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron